Historic season for Pards football

Lafayette football Leopards, finishing at 9-3, were crowned 2023-24 Patriot League champs, and continued earning accolades well after their NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision Playoffs. Among the awards: Fred M. Kirby II ’42 Head Football Coach John Troxell ’94 is named Patriot League Coach of the Year; Billy Shaeffer ’24 is selected as Top 3 finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award, celebrating the nation’s top defensive player; Shaeffer, Jamar Curtis ’26, and Saiku White ’25 earned All- America status; and 12 All- Patriot League selections, including Jaylon Joseph ’27 as Rookie of the Year.

During a football game in November, a new name was revealed for the Lafayette Leopard: Roary. The name was decided after students and community members voted in an online poll. Roary will turn a sprightly 100 years old this fall.