Commencement 2012

CommencementLAFAYETTE granted 612 degrees to 585 graduating seniors and honorary doctorates to four distinguished leaders, including award-winning television and film director, writer, producer, and actor Garry Marshall, at the 177th Commencement on May 19.

President Daniel H. Weiss awarded the honorary degrees and delivered farewell remarks to the Class of 2012. Receiving honorary degrees were Marshall (Doctor of Arts); John and Marianne Loose, the founders of Lauren’s First and Goal Foundation (each receiving a Doctor of Public Service); and Barry Sleckman ’83, a noted immunologist at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis (Doctor of Science).

Caitlin M. Flood ’12 delivered farewell remarks for the Class of 2012. She is the recipient of the George Wharton Pepper Prize, awarded to the senior who “most closely represents the Lafayette ideal.” Flood graduated with a bachelor of arts degree with majors in government & law and philosophy.

Experience videos, photo galleries, and public photo sets