Presidential Search Committee Members Named

EDWARD W. AHART ’69, chair of the College’s Board of Trustees, announced June 14 the membership of a committee formed to conduct a search for the next president of Lafayette.

Trustee Alan R. Griffith ’64, former chair of the board, will chair the Presidential Search Committee, and trustee Elisabeth Hughes MacDonald ’81 will serve as vice chair. The committee includes six trustees, three faculty members, two alumni, one administrative staff member, and a student.

“The College is fortunate to be represented by such a talented, diverse, committed, and broadly experienced group of individuals to lead this important process. I am grateful to each of them for agreeing to serve, and I also thank so many other members of our community who have offered to help and are serving the College in a variety of important ways,” Ahart said.

The other trustees are James R. Birle Jr. ’83, Judson C. Linville ’79, Robert E. Sell ’84, and Sylvia Daniels Weaver ’75.

Faculty members are Mary A. Armstrong, associate professor of women’s and gender studies/English and chair of the Women’s and Gender Studies program; Robert L. Cohn, professor of religious studies, Philip and Muriel Berman Chair of Jewish Studies, and chair of the Jewish Studies program; and Dru Germanoski, Dr. Ervin R. VanArtsdalen ’35 Professor of Geology and Environmental Geosciences and head of the Department of Geology and Environmental Geosciences.

Additional alumni on the committee are Pamela Gaary Holran ’88, former Alumni Association president and trustee, and Alex Karapetian ’04, president-elect of the Alumni Association.

The administrative staff member is John F. McKnight, dean of intercultural development, and the student is Evan R. Gooberman ’13, a biology major from Haddonfield, N.J. James F. Krivoski, executive assistant to the president and administrative secretary to the Board of Trustees, will serve as secretary to the committee.

President Daniel H. Weiss announced May 1 that he will complete his service as president at the conclusion of the 2012-13 academic year, having served eight years in the position. He will become the president of Haverford College July 1, 2013.

“Lafayette College has accomplished a great deal under the leadership of Dan Weiss, and a number of important initiatives will be completed in the upcoming academic year under his continuing leadership,” Ahart said.

“The Board of Trustees remains firmly committed to the vision for Lafayette set forth in the College’s strategic plan. We are resolved to build on the strong momentum that has been established toward achieving the plan’s goals and enhancing Lafayette’s position as one of America’s premier small colleges that is academically distinguished in the liberal arts, sciences, and engineering with an international reach and presence. We are confident that the College will attract a very strong candidate pool and that the Presidential Search Committee will find an exceptional leader who will continue our momentum on all fronts.”